Psalm 86…

My go to Psalm…

Psalm 86:1-17 (NLT)

This Psalm is my go to Psalm whenever I’m in a situation that feels helpless, when I know that I need a miracle, when I feel that I don’t the adequate words to express to God. It’s David’s prayer but I use it for myself.

1 Bend down, O Lord, and hear my prayer;
answer me, for I need your help.
2 Protect me, for I am devoted to you.
Save me, for I serve you and trust you.
You are my God.

What a way to start to a prayer, asking God to please listen, protect and save but at the same time reminding him that yes I am devoted to him and that I serve him.

3 Be merciful to me, O Lord,
for I am calling on you constantly.
4 Give me happiness, O Lord,
for I give myself to you.
5 O Lord, you are so good, so ready to forgive,
so full of unfailing love for all who ask for your help.
6 Listen closely to my prayer, O Lord;
hear my urgent cry.
7 I will call to you whenever I’m in trouble,
and you will answer me.

God can do what he likes with me, so I’m reminded to plead for mercy, I may search for happiness in all the wrong places but only God can truly provide it for me. He is always ready to forgive when me when I sin, God’s love for me is unfailing, I can call on him at anytime and he will answer me.

8 No pagan god is like you, O Lord.
None can do what you do!
9 All the nations you made
will come and bow before you, Lord;
they will praise your holy name.
10 For you are great and perform wonderful deeds.
You alone are God.

There is no other god like our living God. Only God is worthy of our praise, and all the nations will come and bow down and worship him.

11 Teach me your ways, O Lord,
that I may live according to your truth!
Grant me purity of heart,
so that I may honor you.
12 With all my heart I will praise you, O Lord my God.
I will give glory to your name forever,
13 for your love for me is very great.
You have rescued me from the depths of death.

God is my teacher, from him I learn how to live in his truth, only God can give me a pure heart, I seek God to honor him, to praise and give him glory at all times. His love for me is great so very, very great that at times I cannot even comprehend how great it is, and so many, many times he has rescued me.

14 O God, insolent people rise up against me;
a violent gang is trying to kill me.
You mean nothing to them.

There are people in my life that don’t know God and they try to persecute me, but to them God is nothing, my heart goes out to these people as they don’t realize how much they really need God in their lives.

15 But you, O Lord,
are a God of compassion and mercy,
slow to get angry
and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness.

His compassion and mercy that at times I definitely don’t feel like I deserve is always there for me, so thankful that he is slow to anger, something I need to learn a lesson in myself.

16 Look down and have mercy on me.
Give your strength to your servant;
save me, the son of your servant.
17 Send me a sign of your favor.
Then those who hate me will be put to shame,
for you, O Lord, help and comfort me.

Oh, God thank you that you do have mercy on me, thank you for the strength you provide me with, you and only you Lord can help and comfort me.

Oh Lord, I thank you for your infinite wisdom in providing us with resources to learn about you. I thank you for these Psalms written by David his time of need that I can use for myself in my time of need. You are always there for me; you never leave me; I thank you that my life is in your hands. I thank for you for all the prayers you have answered for me. In Jesus name, Amen.

Mia

Leave a Reply

