Philippians…

Christ is my reward…

Paul gives thanks and his heart is filled with joy because the Philippians have partnered with him in spreading the good news about Christ. He prays that their love for each other will overflow more and more and that they will grow in their knowledge and understanding in Christ.

Some people preach the message of Christ for their own selfish ambition and with impure motives, but Paul rejoices despite their wrong reasons for preaching the gospel is still being preached.

Paul is torn between living for Christ on earth or dying and being with Christ in heaven. Paul realizes that while dying would be better for him, it is better for others that he still be alive on earth to preach the good news. But regardless of what happens to Paul he tells everyone to live in a manner worthy of the Good News about Christ. There are times when you will suffer for the cause of Christ but in the end we will be with God.

We are to be like Christ who humbled himself, he didn’t demand and cling to his rights as God. He made himself nothing and appeared to us in human form, he died a criminal’s death on the cross for us. Because of this, God raised him up from the dead. Every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. We are to be humble like Jesus and work in unity with each other. Be faithful to God and live a clean, godly life in a dark world

Paul warns against people who say you must follow the law and get circumcised. Paul was born into a Jewish family; he was a member of the Pharisees who demanded the strictest obedience to the Jewish law. However, upon meeting Christ he put all that behind him because he considered it worthless compared to knowing Christ. He no longer counted on his own goodness or ability to obey God’s law but instead trusted Christ to save him.

Paul wasn’t perfect he hadn’t achieved everything or reached perfection in his walk with Christ, but he was working towards that day where he would be all that Christ wants him to be. Paul put the past behind him and was straining to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which, through Christ Jesus was calling him and all of us up to heaven.

Paul pleads with two women who belong to the Lord to settle their differences. Always be full of joy. Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. This is sound advice that is very hard to heed without the Lord’s help, I know it has taken me years to get to point in my life where I can say that really try to live by these words. Pray about everything be thankful for everything that God has done and ask him for what you need, then you will experience God’s peace. This I can very much testify to again, after many years of trusting God and thanking him I can say that his peace is with me at all times.

Paul also says he knows how to live on almost nothing or with everything. My journey in life has taken me through a huge house and numerous toys and possessions back to the bare bones of necessity and right now I can say that I’m more satisfied with less than I’m with all that I had before. Because, I have God I don’t need anything more than what I currently have, he fills my heart with overflowing love, peace and joy.

Lord, I thank you for everything that you have given me, but more than anything I thank you that you have filled me with your peace in my heart. My life is nothing without you. As I continue through journey I thank you that you are constantly by my side and always there to pick me up when I fail and fall down. I thank you that you have never failed me. In Jesus name, Amen.

Mia

 

Leave a Reply

