Romans Part 1…

Over the last week, I have being journeying through the book of Romans…

Chapters 1-7

Time and time again I’m astounded by the magnitude of God’s love for me. There have been times in my life where I have felt unworthy of His love. There have been times when I have felt far away from His love. Paul reminds me in the book of Romans that the Jesus Christ the Son of God came to the earth in human form to take on all our sins. All our sins, not just some of them but ALL of them. The Holy Spirit raised Christ from the dead and God has given us the privilege of telling everyone about him. How negligent have I been about telling others about Christ? I’m as guilty as everyone else in not sharing Christ with my friends, work colleagues and family.

We assume that God is angry with us but no he is angry at sin. We start worshipping the things God created and not God himself. We turn our backs on God, and sin takes over our lives, it breaks his heart to watch us become full of wickedness, greed, hate, envy, murdering, fighting, deception, malicious behaviour and gossip.

We read about the Jews telling everyone else to stop sinning yet they were some of the worst offenders. As Jews they were relying on God’s special relationship with them to save them but God will punish anyone and everyone who doesn’t obey the law. We have had the privilege of being born again through Jesus Christ into a personal relationship with God, and that makes us so much more guilty than the Jews when we tell others to stop sinning, and yet we keep on sinning.

Thank you God that you are faithful. You do not change. All people are sinners. We cannot keep on sinning and expect to glorify God, it doesn’t work like that. We cannot expect to be right in God’s sight by simply obeying the law; we cannot become right in God’s sight by our works. We become right in God’s sight by our faith. God made a way for us by sending his Son to die on the cross for our sins. No matter who we are or what we have done, Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins and he rose again and is living with God. We come to God through our faith in Jesus Christ, that way we cannot boast about our goods works bringing us to God because our good works are meaningless if we don’t believe. There is only one God and only one way to be accepted by Him. This doesn’t mean that we can forget about the law, but when have faith we will truly fulfill the law.

Our good deeds will not get us into the kingdom of God; if they did then we would have something to boast about. It is our faith that makes us acceptable to God. Abraham believed and then was circumcised, the circumcision was a sign that Abraham already had faith and had already been declared righteous by God. God’s promise to give the whole earth to Abraham and his descendants was based on his faith and not on obedience to God’s laws. Saying that a person is good enough by obeying the law makes faith useless. God promised Abraham that he would be the father of many nations, at an age when both him and Sarah were well beyond childbearing age, and this promise seemed impossible, yet Abraham still believed God. His faith as a result grew stronger and he was convinced that God could do anything he promised.

We have been made right in God’s sight by faith. Christ has brought us to God, the highest place of privilege where we can share God’s glory. We can rejoice when we run into trials and problems. God loves us dearly; He has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. When we were utterly helpless Christ came and died for us sinners. Adam sinned and sin entered the entire human race, Christ came and took that sin, and in one act of righteousness makes us right in God’s sight and give us life.

Christ rose from the dead and he will never die again. Death no longer has any power over Him. He died once to defeat sin and now he lives for the Glory of God. Do not let sin control the way you live. Instead give yourself completely to God. We are no longer slaves to sin. God’s grace has set us free from sin, however, that does not mean we can go on sinning. Whichever you choose becomes your master. Choosing sin leads to death, choosing God leads to his approval. The wages of sin are death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.

Paul struggled with sin I am no different. Just like Paul I know its wrong to sin, but sin takes advantage of me and everyone else by making me want to do the wrong thing. The less I want to sin, the more the sin makes me want to the wrong thing. I fight with it everyday and night. The law makes me a slave to sin. Only Jesus Christ can help me overcome my sinful nature. Oh Lord, right now I need your help to stop being distracted from finishing this article.

Lord Jesus, I thank you for everything that you have done for me, I thank you that you took my sin and died on the cross for me, but more than I ever I’m thankful that you rose again, that you are alive and that through you I can have a relationship with our Father in heaven. I thank you, that each day that I struggle with sin that I can turn to you for help. I pray that I will not look down upon anyone and think that they are less than me. I pray for my friends who are struggling, I’m not going to name them here but there are specific friends that I know need your help more than ever, please draw them back to you so they can see you for who you really are, the almighty and loving God, who brings us peace and comfort. I pray that what I have written is for your glory, that anyone who reads it will see you. In Jesus name, Amen.

Mia

Leave a Reply

